Super Falcons to camp in Austria without star player and captain Asisat Oshoala

Nigeria’s senior women’s football team, the Super Falcons, will camp in Austria without their star player and captain, Asisat Oshoala.

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has released a 26-woman list for camping in Austria ahead of a tournament in Lagos, Nigeria and the Barcelona star Oshoala was exempted from the list.

Ghana’s Black Queens, Cameroon’s Indomitable Lionesses, Banyana Banyana of South Africa, Morocco and Mali will compete against Nigeria in the tournament.

The camp in Austria is the third gathering that the NFF has arranged for the Super Falcons this year, following an interesting three-wins-out-three account at the Turkish Women’s Cup in Antalya in February and the Summer Series in the USA last month.

The 26-year-old Oshoala won a historic treble with Barcelona’s women’s side and also played for Nigeria in an invitational tournament in the United States in June. It is reported that she is nursing an injury.

Meanwhile former captain, Desire Oparanozie has been invited back to the team.
Oparanozie was initially leftout of the Super Falcons for the role she played in the team’s sit-in protest over unpaid allowances at the 2019 World Cup.

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (CD Pozoalbense, Spain); Chiamaka, Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Patience Okeke (Bayelsa Queens); Yewande; Balogun (California Storm, USA)
Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Edo Queens); Osinachi Ohale (Madrid CFF,Spain); Esther Ogbonna (Edo Queens); Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF,Spain); Onyinyechi Zogg (FC Zurich, Switzerland); Nicole Payne (WestVirginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash Reserves, USA); Megan Ashleigh (Leicester City, England); Josephine Ijeh (BK Hacken, Sweden)
Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna United, Sweden); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Mowaninuola Dada (Watford FC, England)
Forwards: Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Francisca Ordega (Levante UD, Spain); Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens); Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens); Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC, Sweden); Ebere Orji (Sundsvall DFF, Sweden); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Lewes FC, England); Evelyn Ijeh (BK Hacken, Sweden); Desire Oparanozie (FC Dijon, France)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *